Life Unexpected

I think that most people can honestly say that their life didn’t turn out the way they imagined it. For most people though, these things we don’t expect become the biggest blessings in our lives. I personally would have to say that I couldn’t even have imagined the life I have, but I also wouldn’t change one thing about it.

Two years ago, I was not the girl who ever would have joined a sorority, and very honestly, I would not fit into most sororities, but I found my place in Sigma Alpha. I found a group of women who love, support, and encourage me. Through Sigma Alpha I have met lifelong friends, women I feel like I can talk to who understand what it’s like to have and pursue a passion that doesn’t necessarily line up with gender norms.

1.png

2.png

Two years ago, I didn’t know the first thing about engines, it wasn’t that I wasn’t interested I just never took the time to learn it. Yet here I am passionate about a major that is based around mechanical systems, most of the clubs I’m in have something to do with engines, from ASM Club where we restore classic tractors to the Ag tech expo where students do a project on the new technologies in agriculture, most of which are based on some sort of machinery. I am in an internship at an Ag Machinery dealership, an important aspect of my job being to know about tractors. If you told me that is what my life would look like two years ago I probably would have laughed, and told said you were crazy. It just wasn’t part of my “life plan.”

34

I always knew that agriculture was my passion and I was POSITIVE that I knew what I wanted to do, where I would end up in life, and exactly who I would be. That’s not life though, as I learned more about who I was and found the people I really fit in with my perspective on what my idea that my passion was changed. I no longer was dead set on one path, I saw that in life there are many ways to get to the same place. The most freeing decision I made was to let go of what I thought I wanted and learned what I actually wanted and needed.

5

I have learned that sometimes when we expand our view, take a step outside of our comfort zone, and learn who we are we understand ourselves better and therefore are able to see that sometimes our “perfect life plan” doesn’t fit who we are becoming anymore. Or maybe it does, and that’s important to know too.

76

I think we as people have the tendency to forget that we all change, we get new experiences, learn more, and see new things that change who we are and how we see things. We can get so caught up on what we think is the most important thing that we sometimes miss the blessings right in front of our eyes.

We forget to take a step back and look at where we are, or on the other hand, we refuse to take a step outside of our comfort zone because of fear. For me, the best decisions I’ve made, the ones that have brought me the most joy, is from when I’ve done both of those things. So take the step, either way, maybe both, learn something about yourself that you didn’t see before, and learn to love life as it comes. Life changes constantly, it’s exciting and scary at the same time, so learn to take it as it comes, learn to love it, since you only get one, why not enjoy it?

In Sisterhood,

Allison

64-DSC_9156
Allison Fox – Ag Systems Management

Leave a Reply

