She’s Not Just My Sister, She’s My Best Friend

My sister, Brooklyn and I weren’t always close. When we were younger, we would always be in fights or yelling at each other (it wasn’t pretty). I never imagined us ever being close to one another. It wasn’t until I left for NDSU, that we became closer. I don’t know if it was the fact we had some distance between us or that she was the “only child” at home with our parents. Whatever the reason, I am beyond grateful how close we have grown.

brooklyn

I can always count on her to be by my side. I can tell her anything and she won’t judge. Since we are “blessed” to have our parents and other siblings (and some family information is just too embarrassing to share with friends), we can vent to each other about the struggles of the Erickson life.

She gives me honest advice even when I don’t want to hear it. When I feel like no one understands me, I know she does. Even though there is a three-year age gap between us and we’re at different point in our lives, we can always give each other constructive advice.

33532989_10204744191362593_5682535757479149568_n.jpg

She is my go-to movie/Netflix buddy. Whether its binge watching The Office or watching scary movies (because for some reason, no one “enjoys” watching scary movies besides us), I know she will always be down to cancel plans, make popcorn, and find shows to watch.

I am unbelievable proud of her. She has the smarts and the athletic skills. She excels in literally everything she puts her mind to. Whether it’s playing basketball and going to state or enlisting in the Air National Guard, there is nothing that Brooklyn can’t do. I’m sure of it.

llll

We still have an occasional fight (usually about stolen/missing clothes). Sometimes the small arguments can blow up into full blown fights, but at the end of the day, I will always have her back and I know she has mine.

She’s not just my sister, she’s my best friend.

 

In Sisterhood,

Alyson

5e1d9d58394d2286c9c06c214ecac60d
Alyson Erickson – Ag Economics

Leave a comment